SEC. 63-13-11. Inspection fees; disposition of funds.
A fee of Five Dollars (5) shall be charged for an inspection and issuance of a certificate of inspection for vehicles registered in this state. A fee of Ten Dollars ($10.00) shall be charged for an inspection and issuance of a certificate of inspection for vehicles registered in another state unless a reciprocal agreement, as provided for in Section 63-13-7 has been approved, in which event no Mississippi certificate of inspection shall be required. The fee for state registered vehicles shall include a charge of Two Dollars ($2.00) per certificate of inspection, which shall be remitted to the Mississippi Department of Public Safety. The fee for motor vehicles registered in another state includes a charge of Nine Dollars ($9.00) per certificate of inspection, which shall be remitted to the Department of Public Safety. The funds so received by the department shall be deposited in the General Fund of the State Treasury in accordance with the provisions of Section 45-1-23 (2). The portion of the fee which is not remitted to the department may be retained by the official inspection stations.
SOURCES: Codes, 1942, Sec. 8258-05; Laws, 1960, ch. 408, Sec. 5; 1964, ch. 456; 1968, ch. 544, Sec. 1; 1972, ch. 389, Sec. 1; 1976, ch. 396, Sec. 6; 1986, ch. 500, Sec. 52, eff from and after July 1, 1986.